2026 published figures · sourced to scheme brochures

    Hospital plans in South Africa, 2026

    A hospital plan covers you in hospital and leaves day-to-day spending to you. Below are the 50 hospital options we hold for 2026 across 8 schemes — main-member and dependant contributions, which hospitals you may use, and what each admission can cost you — all taken from the published scheme brochures.

    Get a free callback

    No spam. We only call to help you compare quotes. POPIA-compliant.

    R645–R6 620
    main-member contribution per month, 2026
    50
    hospital options across 8 schemes
    12
    options that allow any private hospital
    45
    options publishing unlimited in-hospital cover

    What a hospital plan does and does not pay for

    A hospital plan is an option offered by a medical scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act 131 of 1998. It funds authorised in-hospital treatment and the Prescribed Minimum Benefits, including the conditions on the Chronic Disease List, but it carries little or no day-to-day benefit. GP consultations, dentistry, optometry, radiology outside hospital and over-the-counter medicine are normally paid from your own pocket.

    Two design choices drive the price. The first is the hospital network: 12 of the 50 options in our data set let you use any private hospital, while 38 restrict you to a defined list and price accordingly. The second is the co-payment — 4 options publish a fixed amount you pay per admission, and several apply a separate co-payment on MRI and CT scans.

    A hospital plan is not the same thing as health insurance, and it is not the same thing as gap cover. Gap cover is a short-term insurance product that pays the shortfall between what a specialist charges in hospital and what your scheme pays — it cannot replace a medical scheme option.

    Hospital plans by scheme

    Main-member price ranges for 2026, per scheme. Follow a scheme through for its full hospital range, networks and co-payments.

    Bonitas hospital plans

    6 options

    R1 275–R3 561 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Bonitas hospital plan prices

    Discovery Health hospital plans

    13 options

    R1 350–R3 980 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Discovery Health hospital plan prices

    Fedhealth hospital plans

    13 options

    R1 155–R6 620 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Fedhealth hospital plan prices

    Medihelp hospital plans

    5 options

    R804–R3 360 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Medihelp hospital plan prices

    Medshield hospital plans

    5 options

    R1 821–R4 938 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Medshield hospital plan prices

    Momentum hospital plans

    3 options

    R645–R2 585 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Momentum hospital plan prices

    CompCare hospital plans

    1 options

    R5 192 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    CompCare hospital plan prices

    Profmed hospital plans

    4 options

    R2 477–R3 516 a month for a main member on the 2026 published contributions.

    Profmed hospital plan prices

    What the 2026 hospital plan pricing shows

    Computed from published brochure contributions. Factual price comparisons only — not rankings, and not a recommendation of any option.

    Lowest priced network hospital options

    Network options limit which hospitals you may use. Check the hospital list before choosing on price.

    Every 2026 hospital plan price, cheapest first

    50 options, sorted by main-member contribution. “Not stated” means the 2026 brochure does not publish that figure — we do not estimate it.

    Momentum: Ingwe Option

    R645 /month, main member

    Adult
    R645
    Child
    R645
    Hospitals
    Connect / Ingwe Network / Any hospital (member's choice)
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medihelp: MedMove! Student

    R804 /month, main member

    Adult
    Not stated
    Child
    Not stated
    Hospitals
    Medihelp National Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFEDSavvy Hospital

    R1 155 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 155
    Child
    R849
    Hospitals
    Fedhealth GRID Network (120 hospitals)
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: BonCore

    R1 275 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 275
    Child
    R1 275
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Active Smart

    R1 350 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 350
    Child
    R1 350
    Hospitals
    Private hospitals in the Dynamic Smart hospital network as referred by Ask Discovery.
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: BonStart

    R1 603 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 603
    Child
    R1 603
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: myFED

    R1 719 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 719
    Child
    R779
    Hospitals
    myFED Network Hospitals
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Dynamic Smart

    R1 797 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 797
    Child
    R1 797
    Hospitals
    Private hospitals in the Dynamic Smart hospital network as referred by Ask Discovery.
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medshield: MediCurve

    R1 821 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 821
    Child
    R483
    Hospitals
    Compact Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Momentum: Evolve Option

    R2 029 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 029
    Child
    R2 029
    Hospitals
    Comprehensive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: BonStart Plus

    R2 040 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 940
    Child
    R899
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1Elect Hospital

    R2 051 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 602
    Child
    R747
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    R15 950
    Brochure
    Medshield: MediPhila

    R2 145 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 145
    Child
    R558
    Hospitals
    Compact Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Smart

    R2 161 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 161
    Child
    R2 161
    Hospitals
    Private hospitals in the Smart hospital network.
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: BonEssential Select

    R2 345 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 718
    Child
    R774
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medihelp: MedVital Elect

    R2 412 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 752
    Child
    R1 014
    Hospitals
    Medihelp National Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Profmed: ProSelect Savvy

    R2 477 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 290
    Child
    R965
    Hospitals
    Savvy hospital network (DSPN). Voluntary use of a non-network hospital: R14 000 co-payment; R5 000 for a specified day procedure (subject to PMB legislation).
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Momentum: Custom Option

    R2 585 /month, main member

    Adult
    R1 956
    Child
    R916
    Hospitals
    Associated hospitals (headline); Any hospital variant available
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1 Hospital

    R2 630 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 061
    Child
    R963
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Delta Core

    R2 681 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 018
    Child
    R1 076
    Hospitals
    Private hospital in the Delta Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: BonEssential

    R2 747 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 030
    Child
    R888
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Profmed: ProSelect

    R2 754 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 700
    Child
    R1 138
    Hospitals
    ProSelect hospital network (DSPN). Voluntary use of a non-network hospital: R14 000 co-payment; R5 000 for a specified day procedure (subject to PMB legislation).
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Core

    R2 845 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 845
    Child
    R645
    Hospitals
    KeyCare Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medshield: MediValue Compact

    R2 907 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 541
    Child
    R816
    Hospitals
    Compact Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Smart

    R3 018 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 381
    Child
    R1 205
    Hospitals
    Private hospitals in the Smart hospital network.
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medihelp: MedVital

    R3 096 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 376
    Child
    R1 062
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2Elect Hospital

    R3 104 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 775
    Child
    R922
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    R15 950
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Delta Core

    R3 126 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 465
    Child
    R1 250
    Hospitals
    Private hospital in the Delta Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Profmed: ProActive Plus Savvy

    R3 164 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 914
    Child
    R1 235
    Hospitals
    Savvy hospital network (DSPN). Voluntary use of a non-network hospital: R14 000 co-payment; R5 000 for a specified day procedure (subject to PMB legislation).
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medihelp: MedAdd Elect

    R3 186 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 496
    Child
    R1 110
    Hospitals
    Medihelp National Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Coastal Core

    R3 250 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 438
    Child
    R1 291
    Hospitals
    Any approved hospital in the four coastal provinces
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Essential Core

    R3 356 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 517
    Child
    R1 347
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital approved by the Scheme
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medihelp: MedReach

    R3 360 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 634
    Child
    R1 110
    Hospitals
    Medihelp National Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Start Regional

    R3 430 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 430
    Child
    R961
    Hospitals
    KeyCare Start Regional Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Profmed: ProActive Plus

    R3 516 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 239
    Child
    R1 370
    Hospitals
    Any hospital of your choice
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Bonitas: Hospital Standard

    R3 561 /month, main member

    Adult
    R2 999
    Child
    R1 353
    Hospitals
    Restrictive network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3Elect Hospital

    R3 705 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 398
    Child
    R1 314
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    R15 950
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2GRID Hospital

    R3 719 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 315
    Child
    R1 098
    Hospitals
    Fedhealth GRID Network (120 hospitals)
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Start

    R3 765 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 765
    Child
    R1 024
    Hospitals
    KeyCare Start Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: Classic Core

    R3 905 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 083
    Child
    R1 562
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital approved by the Scheme
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Discovery Health: KeyCare Plus

    R3 980 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 980
    Child
    R1 064
    Hospitals
    KeyCare Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 2 Hospital

    R4 147 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 690
    Child
    R1 224
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medshield: MediCore

    R4 278 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 618
    Child
    R987
    Hospitals
    Compact Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3GRID Hospital

    R4 436 /month, main member

    Adult
    R4 068
    Child
    R1 573
    Hospitals
    Fedhealth GRID Network (120 hospitals)
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Medshield: MediPlus Compact

    R4 938 /month, main member

    Adult
    R3 522
    Child
    R1 113
    Hospitals
    Compact Hospital Network
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 3 Hospital

    R4 946 /month, main member

    Adult
    R4 531
    Child
    R1 753
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4Elect Hospital

    R4 958 /month, main member

    Adult
    R4 620
    Child
    R1 521
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    R15 950
    Brochure
    CompCare: HospiCare

    R5 192 /month, main member

    Adult
    R5 192
    Child
    R1 817
    Hospitals
    Any Netcare hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4GRID Hospital

    R5 931 /month, main member

    Adult
    R5 424
    Child
    R1 787
    Hospitals
    Fedhealth GRID Network (120 hospitals)
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure
    Fedhealth: flexiFED 4 Hospital

    R6 620 /month, main member

    Adult
    R6 042
    Child
    R1 991
    Hospitals
    Any private hospital
    Co-pay / admission
    None stated
    Brochure

    How this list is put together

    An option appears here when its 2026 brochure classes it as a hospital plan, or when it is a network or capitated option that publishes no overall day-to-day limit. That is a filter over brochure fields, not our opinion of the option. Waiting periods, late-joiner penalties, prosthesis sub-limits and specialist reimbursement rates are not structured in our current data set, so they are not compared here — read them in each scheme's benefit schedule.

    Hospital plans: common questions

    What is a hospital plan in South Africa?

    A hospital plan is a medical scheme option that funds in-hospital treatment and the Prescribed Minimum Benefits required by the Medical Schemes Act 131 of 1998, with little or no day-to-day benefit for GP visits, dentistry, optometry or over-the-counter medicine. It is still a registered medical scheme option, not health insurance.

    How much does a hospital plan cost per month?

    It depends on the option and on how many people you cover, because schemes bill per beneficiary. Across the 2026 options in our data set the published main-member contribution on hospital cover runs from the lowest to the highest figure shown in the table on this page, and each dependant adds its own rate on top.

    What is the difference between a hospital plan and a network hospital plan?

    A full hospital plan lets you use any private hospital. A network option restricts you to a defined hospital list, which is why it is usually cheaper; if you use a hospital outside that list you can be liable for a large portion of the account. Each option's network type and name is shown in the table.

    Do hospital plans cover chronic medication?

    Every registered option must cover the chronic conditions on the Chronic Disease List as part of the Prescribed Minimum Benefits. Some options fund more conditions than the legislated minimum. The number of chronic conditions each option publishes for 2026 is shown per option on its plan page.

    Will I have a co-payment when I go to hospital?

    Some options apply a fixed co-payment per admission, and many apply a separate co-payment on MRI and CT scans. Where the 2026 brochure publishes those amounts they are shown on this page; where it does not, we show “Not stated” rather than estimating a figure.

    Is this page advice on which hospital plan to buy?

    No. It is a factual comparison of published 2026 contributions, networks and co-payments. It is not financial advice and not a recommendation. Confirm current rates and rules with the scheme, or speak to an accredited adviser, before joining or switching.

    All contributions, networks and co-payments on this page are taken from official 2026 scheme brochures and linked to their source document. This is general information, not financial advice, and not a recommendation of any scheme or option. Rates and rules change — always confirm current figures directly with the scheme before joining or switching.