
2026 published figures · sourced to provider brochures
Your medical aid may not pay your specialist's full bill. Compare gap cover premiums, shortfall benefits and limits — so you can see what a top-up really offers.
A little help, if you need it
Compare at your own pace, or ask for a free callback.
These are the gap cover partners we work with, so you can ask us for a quote directly. Everything else on this page is published here for comparison and insight only — we do not sell those policies and cannot quote them, so you would apply through the provider or your own broker.
Each pick below is the winning product on one published figure — nothing is ranked on opinion. Of 40 products from 15 providers, 27 publish a premium, 18 publish a cover percentage and 5 itemise an oncology benefit. Where a figure is not published, the product simply cannot win that pick.
R53/month
lowest published single premium
Of the 26 products in our 2026 data set that publish a single-member premium, this is the lowest at R53 a month.
Discovery Health members only. Discovery Gap Cover is only available to Discovery Health Medical Scheme members. Its 2026 sales aid prices every option by Discovery Health Medical Scheme plan type (Executive, Comprehensive, Classic, Essential, Smart and Coastal plans), and requires every person on your Discovery Health plan to be on the gap policy too. You cannot buy it alongside another scheme's plan, so it cannot be combined with a Bonitas, Momentum, Fedhealth, Medihelp or Medshield plan.
Source brochureR99/month
lowest premium with no scheme restriction
Discovery Health members only limits who may buy the outright cheapest policy, so this is the lowest single-member premium among the products with no scheme-specific restriction in their 2026 documents.
R185/month
lowest published family premium
Lowest family premium of the 21 products that print one — R185 a month covers the main member and dependants registered on the medical scheme.
Source brochureR288/month
lowest published 65+ premium
Gap cover premiums step up sharply with age. This is the lowest 65-and-over premium of the 19 products that publish one.
Source brochure700%
highest published cover level
Settles in-hospital shortfalls up to 700% of the medical scheme rate — the highest multiple published in our 2026 data set, subject to the overall annual limit.
R226 881
overall annual limit per person
Publishes an overall annual limit of R226 881 per insured person per year, the top of the regulated range for 2026.
6 stated oncology benefits
oncology benefit detail itemised in the brochure
Only 5 of the 40 products in the data set itemise an oncology benefit at all, and this one states the most — the full wording is quoted on the provider page.
Across the 27 products with a published premium, the range runs from R53 to R705 a month, with a median of R395. Published cover levels in the data set: 100%, 200%, 300%, 400%, 450%, 500%, 600%, 700%.
Premium is the last thing to look at, not the first. These are the five checks that decide whether a policy actually pays when you hand in the claim — each one maps to a column in the table further down.
A cover level is a multiple of the medical scheme rate. If your anaesthetist charges four times the rate and the policy settles to 200%, you still pay the difference. Ask your specialist what multiple they bill.
Every policy caps individual benefits inside the overall annual limit. 38 of the 40 products in our data set state cover for scheme co-payments and penalties, and 5 itemise an oncology benefit.
Premiums step up at 65, and some policies price children separately while others charge one family rate. Compare the premium for your household shape, not the headline 'from' price.
General waiting periods, condition-specific waiting periods and maternity exclusions differ by product and are set out in the policy wording, not the brochure summary.
Gap cover only works alongside an active medical scheme membership. Confirm the policy accepts your scheme and plan type before you sign anything.
A cheap medical aid with an expensive gap policy can cost more than one mid-range plan. We do that arithmetic for you on the combination cover page.
Gap cover is sold as accident-and-health insurance, and the total it may pay out per insured person per year is capped by regulation. Providers call this the Overall Annual Limit (OAL) or Overall Policy Limit (OPL), and every brochure in our data set states it.
1 January – 31 March 2026
R219 845
per insured person per year
1 April 2026 – 31 March 2027
R226 881
per insured person per year
The R226 881 figure is from TRA's 2026 brochure, calculated under the prescribed table in Regulation 7.2 and increased each year by CPI. Each product row on this page shows the limit exactly as printed in that provider's own 2026 document.
Sub-limits sit inside this cap. A policy may, for example, cap penalty co-payments at R16 000 per claim even though the annual limit is far higher — so read the sub-limits on each product page.
Options worth comparing include the products below. Where a provider does not publish a premium we show "Not published" rather than an estimate.
| Provider | Plan | Cover level | Premium | Standout features | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Admed Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited Employer or broker groups | Admed Primary Gap | Not stated | Not published | Allied-professional shortfalls | Brochure |
| Admed Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited Employer or broker groups | Admed Rates 29 | Not stated | Not published | Covers parents as dependants | Brochure |
| Admed Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited Employer or broker groups | Admed Supreme Gap | Not stated | Not published | Allied-professional shortfalls | Brochure |
| Ambledown Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Ambledown Gap Cover 100 | 100% | Not published | Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
| Ambledown Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Ambledown Gap Cover 200 | 200% | From R349/month | Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
| Complimed PSEMAS members only | Complimed Gap PSEMAS | Not stated | Not published | Scheme-specific (PSEMAS) | Brochure |
| Dis-Chem Health Centriq Insurance Company Limited Quotes on request from the provider | Dis-Chem Gap Base | Not stated | Not published | Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Dis-Chem Health Centriq Insurance Company Limited Quotes on request from the provider | Dis-Chem Gap Summit | 600% | Not published | 600% cover Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Discovery Gap Cover Discovery Insure Limited Discovery Health members only | Discovery Gap Cover Active | Not stated | From R53/month | From ~R53 (cheapest entry) Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Discovery Gap Cover Discovery Insure Limited Discovery Health members only | Discovery Gap Cover Comprehensive | Not stated | From R270/month | Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Discovery Gap Cover Discovery Insure Limited Discovery Health members only | Discovery Gap Cover Core | Not stated | From R171/month | Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| iWyze Quotes on request from the provider | iWyze Gap Cover | Not stated | Not published | Brochure | |
| Kaelo Not sold directly | Kaelo-administered gap cover | Not stated | Not published | Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Liberty Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Liberty Gap Cover | Not stated | Not published | Brochure | |
| Old Mutual GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | ConnectGap Cover | Not stated | Not published | Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
| Old Mutual | Old Mutual Gap Cover | Not stated | Not published | Brochure | |
| Sanlam Gap Centriq Life Insurance Company Limited | Sanlam Gap Comprehensive | Not stated | From R346/month | Scheme-specific (NexGen/Fedhealth) | Brochure |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Exact Cover | Not stated | From R227/month | From ~R227 (cheapest entry) | Brochure |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Exact Cover with Gap and Co-Pay | 400% | From R446/month | Brochure | |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Gap Assist Cover | 500% (max 600%) | From R440/month | Brochure | |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Gap Core Cover | 350% (max 450%) | From R395/month | Brochure | |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Gap Liberal Cover | 400% (max 500%) | From R705/month | Age-banded premiums from R194 | Brochure |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Gap Liberal Lite Cover | 200% (max 300%) | Not published | From ~R150 (cheapest entry) | Brochure |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Plus Gap Cover | 500% (max 600%) | From R511/month | No entry age limit | Brochure |
| Sirago GENRIC Insurance Company Limited | Ultimate Gap Cover | 500% | From R645/month | Allied-professional shortfalls | Brochure |
| Stratum Benefits Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Access Co-Pay Plus300 | 300% | From R444/month | One premium covers whole family Covers spouses on different medical aids | Brochure |
| Stratum Benefits Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Access Optimiser | Not stated | From R217/month | From ~R217 (cheapest Stratum entry) One premium covers whole family | Brochure |
| Stratum Benefits Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Compact300 | 300% | From R363/month | Covers spouses on different medical aids Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
| Stratum Benefits Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Elite500 | 500% | From R529/month | Covers spouses on different medical aids Premium waiver on death/disability Rewards & wellness | Brochure |
| Stratum Benefits Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Meridian400 | 400% | From R275/month | Covers spouses on different medical aids Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
| TRA Auto & General Insurance Company Limited Quote partner | Absolute Cover Plus | 700% | From R681/month | 700% cover Co-payment cover Oncology extender | Brochure |
| TRA Auto & General Insurance Company Limited Quote partner | Basic Cover 300 | 300% | From R99/month | From R99 a month 300% cover | Brochure |
| TRA Auto & General Insurance Company Limited Quote partner | Super Cover Plus | 700% | From R417/month | 700% cover Co-payment cover Oncology extender | Brochure |
| TRA Auto & General Insurance Company Limited Quote partner | Vital Cover Plus | 700% | From R394/month | 700% cover Co-payment cover | Brochure |
| Turnberry Lombard Insurance Company Limited | Turnberry Med-Extend | Not stated | From R185/month | From ~R185 (cheapest Turnberry entry) | Brochure |
| Turnberry Lombard Insurance Company Limited | Turnberry Optimal | Not stated | From R494/month | Brochure | |
| Turnberry Lombard Insurance Company Limited | Turnberry Premier | Not stated | From R538/month | Brochure | |
| Zestlife Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Essential Gap Cover | Not stated | From R429/month | Extended cancer cover | Brochure |
| Zestlife Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Optimal Gap Cover | Not stated | From R276/month | From ~R276 (cheapest Zestlife entry) | Brochure |
| Zestlife Guardrisk Insurance Company Limited | Universal Gap Cover | Not stated | From R591/month | Extended cancer cover Premium waiver on death/disability | Brochure |
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level 100%
From R349/month
Cover level 200%
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level 600%
From R53/month
Cover level Not stated
From R270/month
Cover level Not stated
From R171/month
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level Not stated
Source brochureNot published
Cover level Not stated
Not published
Cover level Not stated
From R346/month
Cover level Not stated
From R705/month
Cover level 400% (max 500%)
Not published
Cover level 200% (max 300%)
From R645/month
Cover level 500%
From R444/month
Cover level 300%
From R217/month
Cover level Not stated
From R363/month
Cover level 300%
From R529/month
Cover level 500%
From R275/month
Cover level 400%
From R681/month
Cover level 700%
From R99/month
Cover level 300%
From R417/month
Cover level 700%
From R394/month
Cover level 700%
From R185/month
Cover level Not stated
From R429/month
Cover level Not stated
From R276/month
Cover level Not stated
From R591/month
Cover level Not stated
3 products
2 products · from R349/month
1 product
2 products
3 products · from R53/month
1 product
1 product
1 product
2 products
1 product · from R346/month
8 products · from R227/month
5 products · from R217/month
4 products · from R99/month
3 products · from R185/month
3 products · from R276/month
A premium is only useful if you are allowed to buy the policy. These products carry a restriction in the 2026 documents we sourced, so check this before you compare them on price. Where a document states no restriction, the policy should sit alongside any registered medical scheme — but gap cover always needs active scheme membership.
The 2026 Admed brochures we could source are corporate and employer-group versions, so availability usually runs through an employer scheme or broker rather than a direct public application. Confirm with the provider whether you qualify.
The only 2026 Complimed document we could source is the PSEMAS variant, which is written for members of the Public Service Employee Medical Aid Scheme. The general Complimed product is not published, so treat this entry as PSEMAS-specific until the provider confirms otherwise.
Dis-Chem Health gap cover is administered by Kaelo. Its 2026 policy pack is not publicly published, so premiums are not printed and eligibility has to be confirmed directly with the provider.
Discovery Gap Cover is only available to Discovery Health Medical Scheme members. Its 2026 sales aid prices every option by Discovery Health Medical Scheme plan type (Executive, Comprehensive, Classic, Essential, Smart and Coastal plans), and requires every person on your Discovery Health plan to be on the gap policy too. You cannot buy it alongside another scheme's plan, so it cannot be combined with a Bonitas, Momentum, Fedhealth, Medihelp or Medshield plan.
iWyze gap cover is an Old Mutual brand administered by Kaelo. The 2026 brochure does not print premiums, so a quote has to come from the provider. No scheme-specific restriction is stated in the brochure.
Kaelo administers gap cover on behalf of other brands (ConnectGap, iWyze, Dis-Chem Health) rather than selling a Kaelo-branded policy, so there is nothing to apply for here. Look at those brands instead.
There is no single best product for everyone, because the winner changes with what you are solving for. On published 2026 figures the cheapest single-member premium, the cheapest family premium, the highest shortfall multiple and the most detailed oncology benefit are four different products — each one is named in the picks section on this page, with the figure that won it.
No. Discovery Gap Cover is only sold to Discovery Health Medical Scheme members. Its 2026 sales aid prices every option by Discovery Health plan type and requires everyone on your Discovery Health plan to be on the gap policy too, so it cannot be paired with a Bonitas, Momentum, Fedhealth, Medihelp or Medshield plan. That matters when you compare premiums, because Discovery's entry option is one of the cheapest figures on this page and most people are not eligible for it.
We can arrange a quote on TRA gap cover. Every other product on this page is here for comparison and insight only — we do not sell it and cannot quote it, so you would apply through that provider or your own broker.
Work in this order: check that the policy is actually available to you (some are sold only to members of one medical scheme, or only through an employer group), check your age band, compare the cover percentage against what your specialists actually charge, read the sub-limits for co-payments, casualty and oncology, then check the waiting periods. Only then compare premiums — the cheapest policy with the wrong sub-limits is the expensive one at claim time.
Across the 27 products in our data set that publish a premium, monthly cost runs from R53 to R705, with a median of R395. Premiums step up in the 65-and-over bands, and family rates usually cover the main member plus all dependants registered on the medical scheme.
Gap cover is a short-term insurance policy that pays the shortfall between what your medical scheme pays for in-hospital treatment and what the doctor or specialist actually charges. It is not a medical scheme and only active medical scheme members can buy it.
Gap cover payouts are capped by regulation. The limit is R219 845 per insured person per year from 1 January 2026 to 31 March 2026, and R226 881 per insured person per year from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. Providers state this limit in their brochures as the OAL or OPL.
It is the multiple of the medical scheme rate up to which the policy will settle a shortfall. A 500% policy settles claims up to five times the scheme rate, subject to the overall annual limit and any sub-limits.
Every figure is taken from the provider's own published 2026 brochure or policy document, and each plan links to the exact source PDF. Where a provider does not print a premium, we leave it blank rather than estimate it.
Gap cover is not a medical scheme and is not a substitute for medical scheme membership. Premiums and benefits are for 2026 and may change — confirm current terms with the provider before deciding. Information only; not financial advice.