Medical insurance is not a medical scheme and is not a substitute for medical scheme membership. It pays defined, capped benefits, may apply waiting periods and underwriting, and carries no Prescribed Minimum Benefit obligation. Premiums and benefits shown are the 2026 published figures and may change — confirm current terms with the provider before deciding. Information only; not financial advice.
Is medical insurance an alternative to medical aid or gap cover?
Not really an alternative — it does a different job. Discovery Flexicare starts at R459 a month and pays for everyday care: network GP visits, medicine and basic tests. The cheapest entry-level flexiFED hospital contribution in our 2026 data set is R1 155 a month (Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital), so you'd save about R696 a month — but you give up in-hospital cover, because there is no planned admission benefit. And gap cover isn't comparable at all: it only tops up what a medical scheme already pays, so it can't replace either one.
It makes sense when
- •You currently pay cash for GP visits, medicine and blood tests and have no cover at all
- •A full medical scheme contribution is out of reach this year and something is better than nothing
- •You mainly need routine, predictable care — a GP, chronic script, X-rays, blood tests
- •You are willing to use a defined provider network in exchange for the lower premium
It is the wrong product when
- •You need cover for a planned operation, cancer treatment, or a hospital stay
- •You can afford a hospital plan — the cheapest in our 2026 data set is Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital at R1 155 a month for a main member
- •You are buying this expecting Prescribed Minimum Benefits — insurance policies carry no PMB obligation
- •You want gap cover as well. Gap cover only pays alongside a registered medical scheme, so it cannot be paired with a health insurance policy on its own
Medical insurance products we have data for
Every figure comes from the Discovery Flexicare 2026 Benefit Brochure, read on 2026-09-01.

Discovery Flexicare
Underwritten by Auto & General Insurance Company Limited (reg. no. 1973/016880/06)
Choose between a lower-cost Core option with four network GP visits and Plus with unlimited network GP visits, broader chronic cover, dentistry, optometry and one specialist visit a year.
The cheapest way in. You get 4 direct GP visits a year, acute and chronic medicine for 6 conditions, X-rays and blood tests. Nothing for teeth, eyes or specialists.
For R80 a month more than Core, unlimited GP visits replace the 4-visit cap, the chronic list goes from 6 conditions to 27, and dentistry, optometry and one specialist visit a year get added. On premium-per-benefit, Plus is the stronger buy for anyone who sees a doctor more than four times a year.
Ask a consultant about Flexicare
Choose the option and household you want covered and we will show the published 2026 monthly premium before a consultant calls you back.
What can you combine it with?
This is where most of the confusion sits. Where the documents are silent, we say so instead of filling the gap.
Can you add gap cover to Flexicare?
Gap cover is sold to members of a registered medical scheme — it pays the shortfall between what a provider charges in hospital and what the scheme pays. With no medical scheme underneath it there is no shortfall to top up, so gap cover cannot be paired with a health insurance policy like Flexicare.
Can you take Flexicare in addition to a Discovery Health medical scheme plan?
Flexicare is positioned as cover for people who are not on the Discovery Health Medical Scheme, not as a top-up for existing Discovery members. Confirm your own position with Discovery before you cancel or add anything.
Can you hold Flexicare while you are on a different medical scheme?
Flexicare is an insurance policy, not a medical scheme, so nothing in the Medical Schemes Act stops you holding it alongside a registered scheme. The one stated exception is Discovery's own: Discovery positions Flexicare for people who are not on the Discovery Health Medical Scheme, so it cannot be paired with a Discovery medical aid plan. This is our reading of the published documents rather than a Discovery quote — confirm your own position with Discovery before you change anything.
Does Flexicare replace a medical scheme?
Discovery's own terms state Flexicare is not a medical scheme and is not intended to be a substitute for medical scheme membership. There is no planned hospital admission benefit and no Prescribed Minimum Benefit obligation.
What it costs your household, versus an entry-level flexiFED hospital plan
Built from published 2026 rates. The medical aid column is the cheapest Fedhealth flexiFED hospital option for that exact household — remember it buys hospital cover and PMBs that medical insurance does not.
- Flexicare Core
- R459
- Flexicare Plus
- R539
- Cheapest flexiFED hospital planFedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital
- R1 155
- Flexicare Core
- R918
- Flexicare Plus
- R1 038
- Cheapest flexiFED hospital planFedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital
- R2 310
- Flexicare Core
- R745
- Flexicare Plus
- R825
- Cheapest flexiFED hospital planFedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital
- R2 004
- Flexicare Core
- R1 490
- Flexicare Plus
- R1 610
- Cheapest flexiFED hospital planFedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital
- R4 008
| Household | Flexicare Core | Flexicare Plus | Cheapest flexiFED hospital plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single member | R459 | R539 | R1 155 Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital |
| Couple | R918 | R1 038 | R2 310 Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital |
| Single parent, 1 child | R745 | R825 | R2 004 Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital |
| Family of four | R1 490 | R1 610 | R4 008 Fedhealth flexiFEDSavvy Hospital |
Put differently: Flexicare Plus costs R6 468 a year for one adult. Whether that beats paying cash depends on how often you actually see a doctor — benefits are capped per category, so heavy users hit limits and light users may not use the cover at all.
Medical aid vs medical insurance vs gap cover
These three get confused constantly. They are not competing versions of the same thing.
- Medical aid
- A non-profit medical scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act
- Medical insurance
- A short-term insurance policy underwritten by an insurer
- Gap cover
- A short-term insurance policy underwritten by an insurer
- Medical aid
- Yes — 271 conditions, 27 chronic conditions and all emergencies
- Medical insurance
- No
- Gap cover
- No
- Medical aid
- Per the scheme rules, against actual cost, subject to plan limits
- Medical insurance
- Defined, capped benefits at agreed rates, usually inside a provider network
- Gap cover
- Tops up the shortfall between a specialist's charge and what the scheme pays
- Medical aid
- No. Open enrolment; late-joiner penalties and waiting periods may apply
- Medical insurance
- Yes — insurers may underwrite, and waiting periods apply
- Gap cover
- Yes — insurers may underwrite, and waiting periods apply
- Medical aid
- It is the scheme
- Medical insurance
- Not stated in the Flexicare 2026 documents — confirm with the provider
- Gap cover
- Yes. Gap cover only pays alongside an active medical scheme
- Medical aid
- Covered, per plan rules
- Medical insurance
- No benefit in the Flexicare 2026 schedule
- Gap cover
- No standalone cover — it only tops up what the scheme already pays
| Question | Medical aid (scheme) | Medical insurance | Gap cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is it, legally? | A non-profit medical scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act | A short-term insurance policy underwritten by an insurer | A short-term insurance policy underwritten by an insurer |
| Must it cover Prescribed Minimum Benefits? | Yes — 271 conditions, 27 chronic conditions and all emergencies | No | No |
| How are benefits paid? | Per the scheme rules, against actual cost, subject to plan limits | Defined, capped benefits at agreed rates, usually inside a provider network | Tops up the shortfall between a specialist's charge and what the scheme pays |
| Can you be refused or rated for your health? | No. Open enrolment; late-joiner penalties and waiting periods may apply | Yes — insurers may underwrite, and waiting periods apply | Yes — insurers may underwrite, and waiting periods apply |
| Does it need a medical scheme in place first? | It is the scheme | Not stated in the Flexicare 2026 documents — confirm with the provider | Yes. Gap cover only pays alongside an active medical scheme |
| Planned hospital admission and surgery | Covered, per plan rules | No benefit in the Flexicare 2026 schedule | No standalone cover — it only tops up what the scheme already pays |
What medical insurance does not cover
Read this part before the premium. Each line is what the published 2026 benefit schedule actually says.
The 2026 benefit schedule lists no planned hospital admission or surgical benefit on either option.
PMBs are an obligation of registered medical schemes under the Medical Schemes Act. A health insurance policy is regulated as insurance and carries no PMB obligation.
No oncology benefit appears anywhere in the 2026 benefit schedule.
Radiology cover is limited to black-and-white X-rays and soft-tissue ultrasounds on the approved code list.
Benefits require a network GP, network pathologist, network dentist or network optometrist. Approved treatment outside the network is paid by the member.
A 1-month general waiting period applies to all benefits, with 3 months on dentistry and optometry and 12 months on maternity, HIV and chronic conditions.
Waiting periods
A 12-month condition-specific waiting period may be applied for any condition — including chronic illnesses and HIV — that existed before the membership start date. Newborns can join without waiting periods if added within 90 days of birth. A break of more than 30 days in membership resets all waiting periods.
Medical insurance questions
What we could not verify
- •Minimum and maximum entry ages are not printed in the 2026 brochure or leaflet.
- •Discovery does not print an explicit rule on holding Flexicare alongside a NON-Discovery medical scheme. Our stated answer — that it is technically possible because Flexicare is insurance, not a scheme — is our reading of the published documents, not a Discovery quote.
- •The FSP licence number of the underwriter, Auto & General Insurance Company Limited, is not printed in the documents we read (only its company registration number).
- •The 2026 Core leaflet prints Vitality Active at R145 in one table and R159 in the premium table. We show R159, the figure in the main 'Flexicare monthly premiums' table of the 2026 Benefit Brochure.
- •No single aggregate annual rand limit across all benefits is published — limits are set per benefit category.
- •Rand benefit schedules for the optional Trauma and Funeral benefits are separate policies and were not part of the Flexicare benefit brochure.
Source
Discovery Flexicare 2026 Benefit Brochure — read 2026-09-01

