Where these figures come from: every contribution, limit and network on this page is taken from the scheme's published 2026 brochure, accessed 28 April 2026. This is general information, not advice — confirm the current rate with the scheme before you decide.
    Day-to-Day Benefits
    Comprehensive Cover

    Medical Aid with Dental and Optometry Benefits

    Dental work and glasses add up quickly if you're paying out of pocket. If these matter to you, here's what different medical aid plans include - it ranges from basic check-ups to fairly comprehensive cover.

    Get a free callback

    No spam. We only call to help you compare quotes. POPIA-compliant.

    Household

    family

    Budget Range

    R 4 000 - R 10 000/mo

    Chronic Cover

    Standard PMB

    Also Looking At

    dental, optometry

    Closest matches for this scenario

    5 of the published 2026 options whose brochure figures fit this household and budget. Ordered by how closely the published benefits match the requirements listed above — not by our opinion of the scheme.

    Bonitas: Primary

    Network option — 2026

    R 3 588

    per month, main member

    R 8 677 for two adults and two children

    What the 2026 brochure publishes

    • R 8 677 a month for two adults and two children on the 2026 rates.
    • Unlimited hospital cover — restrictive network.
    • 28 chronic conditions listed (27 PMB + 1 additional).
    • Published day-to-day benefit of R 5 540 a year for a single member.

    Hospital cover

    • • Unlimited
    • • Restrictive network
    • • No per-admission co-payment published

    Chronic & day-to-day

    • • 28 chronic conditions
    • • Day-to-day pool published
    • • No separate maternity benefit published
    Overall day-to-day limit for out-of-hospital expenses
    Cover for 28 chronic conditions on the applicable formulary
    Unlimited hospital cover at a network hospital
    Additional GP and specialist consultations

    Fedhealth: flexiFEDSavvy Savings

    Savings option — 2026

    R 1 600

    per month, main member

    R 4 453 for two adults and two children

    What the 2026 brochure publishes

    • R 4 453 a month for two adults and two children on the 2026 rates.
    • Unlimited hospital cover — comprehensive network (Fedhealth GRID Network (120 hospitals)).
    • 27 chronic conditions listed (27 PMB + 0 additional).

    Hospital cover

    • • Unlimited
    • • Comprehensive network
    • • No per-admission co-payment published

    Chronic & day-to-day

    • • 27 chronic conditions
    • • No day-to-day pool on this option
    • • Maternity benefit published
    Hospital + savings (R445pm) for digitally-savvy under-35s
    Annual savings of R5,338 for day-to-day expenses
    27 PMB chronic conditions in full
    Network hospitals only

    Fedhealth: flexiFED 1Elect Savings

    Savings option — 2026

    R 2 490

    per month, main member

    R 6 255 for two adults and two children

    What the 2026 brochure publishes

    • R 6 255 a month for two adults and two children on the 2026 rates.
    • Unlimited hospital cover — any private hospital.
    • 27 chronic conditions listed (27 PMB + 0 additional).

    Hospital cover

    • • Unlimited
    • • Any private hospital
    • • R 15 950 co-payment per admission

    Chronic & day-to-day

    • • 27 chronic conditions
    • • No day-to-day pool on this option
    • • Maternity benefit published
    Lower premium via R15,950 hospital co-payment
    R5,508 annual day-to-day savings
    27 PMB chronic conditions in full

    Bonitas: BonFit

    Savings option — 2026

    R 2 698

    per month, main member

    R 6 535 for two adults and two children

    What the 2026 brochure publishes

    • R 6 535 a month for two adults and two children on the 2026 rates.
    • Not specified in brochure hospital cover — restrictive network (A list of specific private hospitals).
    • 28 chronic conditions listed (27 PMB + 1 additional).

    Hospital cover

    • • Not specified in brochure
    • • Restrictive network
    • • No per-admission co-payment published

    Chronic & day-to-day

    • • 28 chronic conditions
    • • No day-to-day pool on this option
    • • No separate maternity benefit published
    Out-of-hospital expenses paid from a medical savings account.
    Additional GP consultations available after savings are depleted.
    Hospital cover through a network of specific private hospitals.
    Chronic medicine cover for 28 conditions via a designated provider and formulary.

    Discovery Health: Essential Smart Saver

    Savings option — 2026

    R 2 750

    per month, main member

    R 6 890 for two adults and two children

    What the 2026 brochure publishes

    • R 6 890 a month for two adults and two children on the 2026 rates.
    • Unlimited hospital cover — restrictive network (Smart Hospital Network).
    • 27 chronic conditions listed (27 PMB + 0 additional).

    Hospital cover

    • • Unlimited
    • • Restrictive network
    • • No per-admission co-payment published

    Chronic & day-to-day

    • • 27 chronic conditions
    • • No day-to-day pool on this option
    • • No separate maternity benefit published
    Unlimited private cover in the Smart Hospital Network.
    Full cover for chronic medicine on our formulary for all Chronic Disease List conditions.
    Personal Health Fund covers out-of-hospital healthcare services according to your individual health needs.
    Cover for medical emergencies when you are travelling.

    Your numbers will differ from this scenario

    This page compares the published 2026 figures against one fixed household and budget. Run the calculator to filter the same data set against your own household, budget and health needs.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Explore Related Options